North West London

Clinical Trials Alliance

About the Alliance

The North West London Clinical Trials Alliance is a collaboration between the NIHR Clinical Research Network North West London, the local primary care network, Central London Community Healthcare NHS Trust, and the Clinical Research Facilities (CRFs) hosted by:

  • Chelsea and Westminster Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
  • Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust
  • London North West University Healthcare NHS Trust


The Alliance is dedicated to delivering commercial and non-commercial sponsored clinical trials – utilising existing and purpose-designed facilities to successfully deliver both early and late-phase research.

It aims to increase regional capacity for delivering commercial clinical research, as well as to improve the ease and speed of research delivery, patient access to clinical research and patient opportunities for early access to cutting edge treatment and therapies that are not yet widely available through the NHS.

This will be achieved through collaborative working, using our understanding of the needs and priorities of life science companies and our strong regional team ethos to work in a harmonised manner across centres.

The Alliance can identify world-renowned clinicians to work as principal investigators (PIs) for studies across a wide range of specialties, and provide support from highly-skilled research delivery staff at all sites.

Watch: An overview of the Alliance

Thank you to Imperial Health Charity, who kindly funded this video.

Latest news

Meet the partners

Partners of the NIHR CRN North West London, that make up the North West London Clinical Trials Alliance, share details of their work in these short videos.

Thank you to Imperial Health Charity, who kindly funded these videos.

Chelsea and Westminster Hospital
NHS Foundation Trust

Imperial College Healthcare
NHS Trust


London North West University
Healthcare NHS Trust

The importance of our
primary care partners

Virtual tours

Take a look at the clinical research facilities in these 360 degree virtual tours.

NIHR Imperial Clinical Research Facility

Northwick Park Hospital

Get in touch

NIHR CRN North West London

Industry
Dr Suki Balendra: suki.balendra@nihr.ac.uk
Industry team: industry.crnnwlondon@nihr.ac.uk

Primary Care
Dr David Mummery: david.mummery@nhs.net
Primary Care team, NIHR CRN North West London: lnw.primarycare@nihr.ac.uk

Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust

Dr Karen Mosley: k.mosley@nhs.net

London North West University Healthcare NHS Trust

Sunder Chita: sunderchita@nhs.net
Manoj Trivedi: manojtrivedi@nhs.net
Amanda Bidle: amanda.bidle@nhs.net

Chelsea and Westminster Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

General queries: chelwest.research@nhs.net
Dr Essam Ramhamadany: essam.ramhamadany1@nhs.net

Central London Community Healthcare NHS Trust

General queries: clcht.researchanddevelopment@nhs.net
Simon Lewis: simon.lewis4@nhs.net

The launch event

The Alliance was launched at an online event hosted by broadcaster Adrian Chiles, on 14 September 2021.

Watch the full event below:

Welcome

Dr Bob Klaber

Consultant General Paediatrician,
Director of Strategy, Research & Innovation

Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust


An Overview of the Clinical
Trials Alliance

Dr Suki Balendra

Life Sciences Lead

NIHR Clinical Research Network
North West London

Introducing Chelsea and
Westminster Clinical Research
Facility

Prof Marta Boffito

Consultant Physician, HIV Service Director,
and Clinical Research Facility Lead

Chelsea and Westminster Hospital
NHS Foundation Trust,
Imperial College London

Introducing Imperial Clinical
Research Facility

Prof Martin Wilkins

Professor of Clinical Pharmacology

Imperial College London


Introducing Northwick Park
Clinical Research Facility

Dr Ayesha Akbar

Consultant Gastroenterologist

London North West University
Healthcare NHS Trust

How Primary Care contributes
to the Alliance

Dr David Mummery

GP and Specialty Lead for Primary Care

NIHR Clinical Research Network
North West London

COVID-19 Vaccine Case Study:
How the Alliance worked to ensure study success

Hear from some of those who made the Novavax COVID-19 vaccine trial a success in North West London, including a research participant.


Panel discussion

Chair: Rob Hodgkiss

Chief Operating Officer

Chelsea and Westminster Hospital
NHS Foundation Trust

Members:

Dr David Mummery
NIHR Clinical Research Network North West London

Prof Marta Boffito
Chelsea and Westminster Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Prof Martin Wilkins
Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust

Dr Roger Sharpe
London North West University Healthcare NHS Trust

Dr Suki Balendra
NIHR Clinical Research Network North West London


Closing remarks

Dr Roger Sharpe

Consultant Anaesthetist

London North West University
Healthcare NHs Trust

Media about the Alliance

Dr Suki Balendra – Life Sciences Lead at the NIHR CRN North West London – has appeared in a number of places to spread the word about the North West London Clinical Trails Alliance and the importance of research. Take a look: